Science Forums

Maglev trains

hey, im new to this, but my science project..err experiment..is that i have to basically run tests on maglev trains, that are homemade by me.

my ideas to get this running is to have slabs of aluminum which are wrapped with copper wire and hooked to a 15 or 20 volt power source (all i can afford right now)

i was wondering if the power source would be a sufficient source of power, also, please comment on the ups and downs of this experiment-all help will be appreciated, thanks

well the force that the magnetic field applies will be dependant on its strength which will in turn depend on the amount of current running through the copper and how many turns of the copper you can wind. The more copper you wind the more 'dense' you will make the field, but you will also in turn create a higher electrical resistance in the wires which means less current. A higher voltage will get the current higher.

So wrap as many coils you can at as high voltage as you can, that should do it. :hihi: Im am interested to know your setup of the trains themselves.

P.S heed Infamous' warning! electricity kills - mainly via stupidity and ignorance... :hihi:

so..do any of you think that 15-20 volts with numerous coils will be sufficient enough to levitate the train?

and in response to jay-qu, the trains are most likely going to be a metal based structure, most likely aluminum again, that would wrap around the guide rail, hoping to achieve a levitating effect,

well the trains should be made as light as possible and also will need to have some sort of magnet so it can be repelled.

Even if the track isnt that big because of all the winding you are going to end up with a significant resistance in the wires.

The resistance of the wires can be determined with a multimeter or using the formula:

Resistance = (resistivity of copper * length of wire) / cross-sectional area of the wire

resistivity of copper = 0.0000000168 ohm.m or there-abouts