Science Forums

A "Paleolithic" Diet to Fight the "Diseases of Civilization?"

maikeru

Ever since I worked in a lab years ago on cancer and experimenting with plant-derived antioxidants and other things, I've always wondered how much the diseases we take for granted as "inevitable," like heart disease, diabetes, obesity, cancer, dimming vision, dementia or other mental diseases like Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, etc. are avoidable. This interest has grown into an increasingly deeper and more fascinating discovery of nutrition and health over the years.

Anyway, years ago my mother told me that before she immigrated to America from Asia, that many of these diseases like Alzheimer's, obesity, and heart disease are relatively uncommon in many Asian countries (or at least they were shortly after WW2 until the '70s, when she arrived in the USA). It has often been noted in the press and publications that certain groups of Asians such as the Japanese and Okinawans often live longer and healthier than many other groups. The Okinawans in particular are renowned for exceptional longevity.

The Okinawa Centenarian Study: health, diet & aging research

Likewise, I've been doing some reading recently into something called the "Paleolithic diet," which is supposedly based on what Paleolithic humans and historical and present-day hunter-gatherers would be able to eat. A quick summary of the diet is that it places high emphasis on vegetables, fruits, root vegetables, nuts, eggs, lean meats and seafood, and certain kinds of healthy fats and oils. What it does often exclude is grains, sometimes legumes, dairy products, and of course most processed foods. Here's a more detailed description for the willing: