Science Forums

Agrichar

liam chambers

I'm interested in talking to anyone with a working model of a char -making plant? I'm an organic farmer and wish to combine space-heating for the farm/ house with char-production. I wish to carry out some basic research on the benefits of char as a fertiliser for grass/ legumes/ cerel production at a practical farm level.:shrug:

Welcome Liam,

You have a very interesting and practical application question that I absolutely love. How can you use the energy that you already consume (home heating) and incorporate the production of biochar on a small farm scale application. So, lets jump right in shall we?

Here are some questions to start us off.

1. How is your farm house heated now? Natural gas, wood, coal, oil?
  2. What sort of material are you going to use for your char creation?
  3. Does your house have a basement? (this question might tip you off to what I am thinking of)

Riddle me this while I write down some of my thoughts for a design for you... :shrug:

So, here is my concept for a design.

You would like to set up this process in order to basically reuse the heat being produced for the creation of char. This will work very well because there is considerable waste heat in the process of creating char (lost to radiation) and after the char is created it must give off it's stored heat.