Science Forums

Tutoring the Young

Killean

I have recently accepted a glorious position as the tutor of my friends sister. She is a fidgety girl in grade 5, and so I thought before I dive too fast that I should ask for some advice. So teachers, mothers, previously fidgety and a girl, lend me your ears and thoughts for a few moments.

First and foremost, I will explain the situation a little. Her parents need a little break, and the fact that they have been away from the scholastic world for a while doesn't help much either. Being considered fairly intelligent and far less removed from english and mathematics, they asked if I could help maybe a few days a week. I couldn't think of any greater honor, as I've known her since she was a babe and I want to see her succeed in life.

The second part is this is my first time instructing someone (more then just giving simple answers or fixes etc...), and to be honest I am a little intimidated. I do not wish to use any kind of raised voice to demand quiet or attention. I also believe in giving rewards for jobs well done (a little poor to be buying candy or the like all the time), but without patronizing her.

So I guess my first question is, how should I handle her youthful exuberance (dancing, fidgeting, fooling around) when the situation should call for attention and temperance?

Next, does anyone have some tips, games, fun activities (English and Math) that I can try?

How should I handle discipline? I know there is need for it in rare occasions.

How should I handle the opposite, rewards?

Here is my advice for tutoring kids, and it works for me because of my personality. Other techniques may work better for you.

I have one kid who is a in fourth grade, and two others who have passed through the age you are talking about. My experience is gained from trial and error (mostly error) in helping these guys with their school work on all topics.