Science Forums

Scientific Objectivity

Doctordick

Well, it's been a while since I posted here. A month ago or so, I picked up a translation of some of Kant's work (his 1887 edition of his "Critique of Pure Reason; translated by F. Max Muller). Of course, being ignorant of philosophy (it isn't a subject pushed at graduate physics students; at least not when I was a student) I needed to read some of this stuff. I was surprised by the similarity between Kant's complaints and my reactions to the posts on these forums. As I read the contributions to this forum, I find things to be much the same as seen by Kant over two hundred years ago. I appears that there has there been no progress in the field of philosophy since his time. If I can quote Muller's translation, the following is a specific comment by Kant: