Science Forums

Guitar Rig

I've been playing classical and electric guitar since around 1982, and lately I've began looking into digital music production.

I own a GuitarPort from Line6, which is quite okay for recording guitar into the computer. My main guitar is an Ernie Ball Music Man Silhouette.

I have been using an old guitar synth (Roland GR-1) to play soft synths like Absynth 2 from a company called Native Instruments.

They recently released a brand new product which is very interesting - it's called Guitar Rig.

http://www.nativeinstruments.de/index.php?guitarrig_us

It is a software/hardware combination which is supposed to work equally well for studio and live work.

Listen to the samples on the page - it's really quite stunning.

I know there are other guitarists here - what kind of guitars/equipment do you guys use? What style of music?

Tormod

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ya well, .... I have only been dealing with threads that appear on the home page and Moderator.

Yes, I play guitar. Have since pre-teen days (yes they had guitars back then). But I have not done any interfacing to my computer. Not even d/l'ing tab.

As to equipment, I have an Epiphone (Gibson) don;t know the specific model. A small practice amp I use the most (to jam with tunes) and a Crate for LTD. I use a distortion pedal and phaser, both MXR's. I use the phaser at low rate to provide additional overtones to make the guitar sound more "accoustic".

My musical tastes lean towards Blues/ Rock. Some Jazz mainly fusion. And early rock, Stones, Hendrix, Van Morrison, Hollies, CSN, Allman Bros, Lou Reed, Leonard Cohen, ...

My eldest son is also a guitar player. With my direction, he has learned the benefits of Tube sound. Wish I could afford to! lol.

I got into digital music production about a year ago. I'm no wizard, but it is immense fun. Since I am an honest guy I actually purchase the software I use as well...