Science Forums

Prophesy

TheBigDog

Tormod, I used to travel for a living, and on late night car rides beetween airport and hotel I listened to many hours of "Coast to Coast AM". Anyway, I used to hear all these wacky shows about prophesy, and thought; with today's technology we could record and time stamp predictions, make a searchable engine, and see if there is such a thing as precognition. A scientific approach to a dubious phenomena. So, where in Hypography would a thread for people recording their own prophesies be? Or does it even belong in Hypography?

My first prophesy... there will never be conclusive proof of precognition. Although some people will demonstrate statistical abnormalities in their accuracy, they will be too inconsistant to be considered proof.

Bill

What I thought was sort of interesting was the so-called prophet Nostradamus predicted the destruction of the "New" city. Maybe this was "New" Orleans.

Many people experience psychic type experiences but there is often no way to produce the result at will. I remember when I was younger and took a job down south, which I drove. I never wore seat belts, but I had this nagging premonition to put it on. I ignorred it for about 1/2 hour, as foolishness, until I started to feel nervous. So I put it on. A few minutes later I was part of a multiple car pile-up that totalled my 1.5 year old car. I remember when the crash was about to happen, time slowed down, so I put my hands up in the air to test the seat belt. I figured I would not have gotten the premonition, if I was suppose to get hurt. The seatbelt worked fine and I was totally uninjured. Actually nobody got injured in the pile-up. I remember right after the crash, wishing I had been going faster so I could have had a better test of the seat belt's capablity.

What I thought was sort of interesting was the so-called prophet Nostradamus predicted the destruction of the "New" city. Maybe this was "New" Orleans.