Science Forums

Crackpot Science And The Quest For The Impossible

BEAKER

SUSTAINED MOTION USING PERMANANT MAGNETIC FIELDS

I've been working on this idea for quite a while, with interesting results but no success in the sense of a truly working model- yet. It is considered to be against the laws of physics as we know them; and ultimately impossible. Magnetism is understood to be (equivalent) to gravity in that you can't overcome gravity with gravity, thus nulifying the possibility of "perpetual motion".

I'm not a scientist in the conventional sense of the term, just a dime store junkie in a garage with a limited resources and formal schooling, and regardess of whether or not I ever succeed in my efforts to accomplish this dream of sustained motion though permanent magnetic field interaction, I can tell you that I am aware and accept the traditional understanding about perpetual motion and the reasons why it doesn't work.

But I believe that permanent magnetic field properties are a horse of a different color; and it's not just because of theories and drawings, but because of serious experimentation in an area of physics that is seen by those with "formal training" as crackpot science.

Maybe I'm wrong, and it really is impossible; but if so I'd rather come to that conclusion on my own rather than simply accept someone elses pre-defeated conclusion based on colege level learning in an area that is simply not fully understood by anyone, no matter what they say.

Anyway, the "science" of any significant invention was never fully understood until after some "crackpot" went ahead and did what everyone else said couldn't be done.B)

Hi there

Myself, I don't understand the first thing about magnetism. And don't let anybody tell you different! They can tell you about magnetic fields, etc., untill they're blue in the face, but I still don't get how a piece of magnetite can do what it does.

But I digress.