Science Forums

Aether Physics Still Alive?

Maine farmer

I recall having come across these ideas a while back. According to the ever-so-valuable archive.org, a website about it, quantumaetherdynamics.org, been around since Jan 2010, though a fairly rare print book “Secrets of the Aether: Unified Force Theory, Dark Matter and Consciousness”, was published in 2007.

It appears to be the brainchild of a David W Thompson III, AKA “Aetherwizard”. From a quick read of his thinking, which seems to center around the idea that space is composed of “aether units”, self-description like this:

His background in physics is largely self taught as a result of logic disagreements with former science teachers. In Thomson's view, all physics should lend themselves to common sense and avoid the nonsense-speak prevalent in mainstream physics circles.

Immediately after first publishing his ideas, he discovered the physics establishment is overrun with irrational academics who are more insistent on keeping the foundations of their education in place than on actual scientific progress.

Realizing from firsthand experience how money and the politics of science controlled the scientific establishment, Thomson regrouped and stepped out of the limelight to build a better laboratory, which is equipped with video facilities. His strategy is now to bypass the scientific establishment altogether and go straight to the public through media channels. Basically, his strategy has turned to crowd sourcing and to dissolve the intense academic arrogance that impedes the progress of human-kind, not only in physics, but in all areas of life.

and some writing of his about developing “metaphysical abilities” though “conductance yoga”, I concluded that Thompson is a crank, and his ideas, while weirdly entertaining, of little to no scientific value.

..., I concluded that Thompson is a crank, and his ideas, while weirdly entertaining, of little to no scientific value.