Science Forums

Developing A Game With Fulldive Technology In The Mind

xTcHero

Hey there good folks of science!

I've been lurking around here for a while, specifically reading through this thread in details, trying to gather information and inspiration for my newest projects.

I guess I should do an introduction first, as it seems like most others does this aswell. I am a folk high school student in Norway, currently studying the concepts of game development. In our class, we develop games and software using Unity3D as our game engine, and C# for software development. I've already been developing in Java for 5 years, so transferring to C# was no problem.

Anyways, I have lately been studying the brain and nerves of the brain, trying to figure out how I could use this via an EEG headset in video games. As far as I can tell, by using something like Emotiv's EPOC, we are able to read brain waves and decode the data into runnable code in Unity.

To which extent is EPOC able to read and transfer data? To give a more specific, understandable example; let's say we want to do player movement with EPOC (walking forward, backwards, turning around, jumping, crawling etc.), is the EPOC capable of doing such smoothly, or are there any other relatively cheap products (300-700$) we can use in education?

Thanks in advance, I look forward to update this thread with information regarding the game aswell as useful information for other game developers out there.

Where as an EEG headset would be awesome to use in video games, it really wouldn't be practical. First, might I ask, are you referring to a complete FullDive system or a system in which your movements are detected by the headset and then sent to a game? Whichever one it is definitely impacts the answers you're looking for.