Science Forums

Computer science

Hi there. I am a high school student look at either a major in computer engineering or computer science. I was leaning toward computer science, until I read this article: http://www.studentsreview.com/docs/major_computer_science.shtml I do realize that this article was very poorly put together, but it seems to be an impartial perspective. The comment that this is a "5 year career" is the one that really bothers me. It does seem feasible in a sense that numerous programming languages, etc do only last some time, making it hard to hold a job. I was just looking for someonelses input on the situation. Thank you for your time.

I am not a computer scientist. I have worked in mainframe operations and support for 30 years.

The article writer is correct in a sense with the 5-year career, but he is assuming that you will never learn anything new after school. That is not the case, but you do have to be careful to stay current and involved in the latest technology available at your job. If the environment stagnates (due, for example, to corporate unprofiability), you have to move on quickly, or you will end up unmarketable.

I am a computer scientist. Like any technical career, you do need to continually learn in order to avoid becoming useless. So what? When I started, Berkeley was one of the only schools *not* teaching people how to write Cobol, which was then used for most business coding. Even with that, we learned pre-object oriented C for dumb terminals. Now I do coding with GUIs/Web Browsers, three-tier code, fully object oriented, relational or XML-object data, etc. etc. etc.

CS people are actually the least nerdy people I know. They are a lot more normal that the Chemistry, Math or Physics majors! <ducks/>. They tend to spend their spare units in liberal arts classes rather than other sciences. And as I like to show by example, there are cute girls there too!