Science Forums

Improving Visual Memory. Help.

ThatWierdGuy

Hello everyone,

There has been something frusturating me for the past month. Drawing is one of my many hobbies, and I'm pretty good at drawing what I see right in front of me. However, when it comes to drawing what I see in my own head, I have to draw it as quickly as I can because the picture in my head fades away quickly. (the basic idea is there, but the details are gone, and in drawing details are important) Well, I went to get some tests done and found out that my visual memory is below average. This was a surprise to me even though I've been drawing for only 5 months. I didn't expect much, but below average? Jeez. Its very frusturating for a person who is looking to improve his art skills.

So, I started surfing the net on and off for the past couple of weeks searching for ways to improve my visual memory. What I found out so far that it IS very possible (like improving you IQ), but nowhere does it tell me HOW to improve visual memory. I found one site but you have to pay for information, plus I dont know if its reliable (could be just a scam). Then I searched amazon.com. I found a bunch of books on improving memory, but nothing on improving visual memory. I'm sure some of these books on improving memory has a section on visual memory, but I don't know which one's.

So, recently I decided to join a forum that might focus on memory specificly. Unforutunately, I have yet to find a forum that focuses on memory, but I did stumble upon this forum. So I was wondering if you guys can help me out. Do you know any tips on how to improve visual memory? Any books or links (even forums, if its allowed to link other forums) , anything, would be very helpful.

Thanks.

Yeah, I do exercises myself. picture an orange, spin it around in your mind, give it some kinda feature and just think about it, slice it in half picturing how it looks to slice an orange, rotate the halfs.