Science Forums

Programming

I am biologist by profession andI know a little about programming. Irecently came across genetic programming and I want to know more about it. Also what are the pre-requisites for a layman like me to understand this.Any lucid review for beginners on this pl.hyperlink me.

ok links:

python - http://www.python.org

lisp tutorial- http://www.apl.jhu.edu/~hall/lisp.html

reasons:

Basically python was created to teach people how to propperly program and indent the code, its a great beginner language, and is powerfull enough to write linux package management systems like portage.

Lisp is the crazy language where programs create programs, create programs, and so forth. Lisp is the language primarily used in Emacs .... oops, Artifficial Intelligence and Genetic Programming, so it will be a perfect hit, its not a really great language to stat with, and thats why python is first, but you dont need the complexity of C++ and other low-level languages...

I'll have to admit I've become quite fond of Python, and I'd recommend it for the same reason alexander does. Its going to be interesting to see whether it beats Java or goes the way of Logo...but that's for the 2423 thread....

BTW: I'll also strongly second alexander's recommendation of Lisp, which is one of my all-time favorite languages, although you should be aware that it goes back to the sixties, and is quite a bizarre language and very obtuse in its syntax ((caaddar ....))))

Cheers,

Buffy

I'll have to admit I've become quite fond of Python, and I'd recommend it for the same reason alexander does. Its going to be interesting to see whether it beats Java or goes the way of Logo...but that's for the "Basic.." thread....

BTW: I'll also strongly second alexander's recommendation of Lisp, which is one of my all-time favorite languages, although you should be aware that it goes back to the sixties, and is quite a bizarre language and very obtuse in its syntax ((caaddar ....))))