Science Forums

FDA Regulatory Policy Can Work

After spending more than an hour in reply to what appeared to be an abandoned thread on the FDA, I felt my discussion so important as to post it as a NEW thread. Forum moderator please advise if I took the best approach. I have some extraordinary experiences with the CDRH (Center for Devices and Radiological Health) division of the FDA as a patient, patient advocate, and a scientist and inventor. The CDRH division regulates medical devices, everything from bandaids, to CNS shunts, to imaging scanners. The FDA just began regulating products in 1976, and most all existing products were grandfathered in with the 1976 FDA Act, the implications of which is a whole other discussion. I received a CNS Delta shunt implant to treat hydrocephalus following a 1992 auto accident. I was familiar with FDA regulations from prior medical work. But when it appeared that my "poor" post surgical outcome could be due to critical reports on this Delta shunt (Medtronic/PS Medical), it was safer for the U.S. neurosurgery field to just abandon me as a patient. I was then forced to explore and confirm this via a 1996 FDA Petiton, to which the manufacturer failed to report for years. I actually had to invent a new CNS Shunt Testing system, the DiaCeph Test, in order to get corrective surgery. After the FDA concurred with my Petition, they cut me off and refused to allow me to speak at the very 1999 STAMP Conference I helped create. Our U.S. health system is the most advanced and lucrative in the world, and with that comes responsibility. The most critical oversight mechanism is the "reporting" requirement, that is, when manufacturers become aware of problems with a drug or medical device through ANY means, that they are required to report this to the FDA within (I believe) 30 days. If they fail to do so, they can face stiff fines and JAIL. In the case of the CNS Delta shunt, the FDA kept their findings out of public record so that Medtronic coul