Science Forums

Your Thoughts :p

I am new to Hypography science forums. My name is Blake McFarland and I am currently enrolled in med. school through Ross medical for my RMA. I am slowly working my way up to a D.O. I will be transferring to MSU, in September for my RN. I made this thread to see what people like about medical science and what aspect of this field intrigues them most. Personally I am intrigued by Virology and Neurology :) I would love to see what others like and have to say.

welcome aboard. :wave2:

i like the basic science research coming from the specialties, but none in particular over another. i also like that it sounds as if you are on a path to general practice because this is a major black hole for patients. i understand the interest in specialties for doctors, especially that it often pays better than general medicine, but from the patients' perspective that rings kinda discordant to what is supposed to motivate a doctor.

here's a little blurb on the current shortage & some of its roots. :read:

Medical Schools Can't Keep Up

The U.S. has 352,908 primary-care doctors now, and the college association estimates that 45,000 more will be needed by 2020. But the number of medical-school students entering family medicine fell more than a quarter between 2002 and 2007. ...