Science Forums

Reaching 95% the Speed of Light

SadBot

Hello!

I am new here!! Glad I found this forum, I've been reading it for the last few hours.

Anyway, I am young, going to school and just switched my major to Astrophysics/physics. Unfortunately I am still not very knowledgeable about many things in regards to this. I love learning about space time, and speed and travel. I got interested in this because I am a writer. (Or love to write, I should say). Currently I am working on a story and am stumped.

I feel I understand what would happen if a ship could reach 95% of the speed of light, but how to get there is another thing. I've gotten the ship to about 50% using solar winds and a high beam particle accelerator being shot at sails (Which I found to be a very viable theory), but the rest I can't figure out. I don't even know if there is a way.

Anyway, if anyone could help me out that would be great. Thanks!

Greetings, Im Theory, I'm a freshman network engineer studying at Johnson &Whales University. Where do you go to school?

I'm horrible at math so I don't think I can help you mathmatically, but I have some questions, being a science fiction buff I love theoretical stuff.

I have read many books that indicate their ships move at near light speed without actually stating how, its usually a vague theory if that.

Would the particle beam accelerator be attached to the ship? if it isn't wouldn't the ship move too far away to focus the beam before it got really going? And about solar winds, wouldn't the ship move out of the solar system after a bit?