Science Forums

Help with Molten Salt Solar CSP

I'm not an engineer. I came up with a CSP plant that will run 24 hours a day 7 days a week. After researching on the internet everthing from solar one to sandia there are stil alot of hard facts that need to be worked out.

First, will 12,100 pounds of molten salt be enough to generate enough steam to run a 6000 kilo watt steam turbine generator?

I'm not an engineer. I came up with a CSP plant that will run 24 hours a day 7 days a week...

The being an engineer part can be helpful: first rule is that nothing mechanical will ever run 24/7 without both planned and unplanned down-time...

A good scientist is a person with original ideas. A good engineer is a person who makes a design that works with as few original ideas as possible, :)

Buffy

Of course not. However people say it can only run when the sun is out have already been proven wrong with molten salt Buffy. I have worked in a 10% downtime. But can you help with the real engineering?

Like how long will it take 200 hundred arrays generating 20,000 watts each take to heat up 12,100 pounds of salt peter? That is the kind of help I need.

Hi Freeztar