Science Forums

I challenge the student of quantum mechanics

coberst

I challenge the student of quantum mechanics

I am a retired engineer and read QED, a book about Quantum Electro Dynamics (QED), several years ago and in trying to explain light reflection to a friend I discovered that I was not certain about my ideas on this matter. I do not want any complicated explanation of my error, if there is one, but can someone comment on my understanding of this matter?

I said to my friend that when a photon strikes the surface of an object that it is possible that the photon will strike an electron and in doing so will give up its energy to the electron which will in turn go to a higher energy level orbit. Later the electron will return to its ‘comfort’ level and in doing so will emit a photon from the atom.

This photon emitted from the atom will then go in any random direction but that if we add up the little arrows of probability we will discover that they add up to give us the impression that the photon of light is striking the surface and reflecting from that surface to my eye just as we all learned about the “angle of incidence is equal to the angle of reflection”.

“Richard Feynman based his version of quantum mechanics on the concept of "path integral". He proposed that the transition probability amplitude be calculated by summing contributions from each alternative space-time trajectory of the particles with specific phase factors. From this approach Feynman derived a graphical representation of the amplitudes of the QED, which made the theory much easier to handle. In “Feynman graphs” photons and electrons are pictorially given as lines in a space-time diagram. Interactions with exchange of energy-momentum and other properties occur in such space-time points, where particle lines meet. Feynman graphs are nowadays the standard method used to calculate theoretical predictions.