Science Forums

Using TLC for measuring quantities

Ganoderma

I am studying plants a fair bit now, and a current project is comparing certain plants' chemicals and quantities. I am fairly able to work with tlc plates and reagents, and identifying some of the chemicals (still working on this, but a lot has to do with just playing and comparing with others work and reference samples etc).

But one thing i am still struggling to comprehend is the analysis in getting the quantity using TLC :). i know its not as accurate as other methods....but i have no lab so cost of columns and better equipment is a big limiting factor!

Anyone here have experience with this?

I've never had any experience with quantifying compounds using TLC since I've always had access to more complex equipment.

The only ways I can think of that would allow you to measure quantity from your TLC plate would be to:

1. Scrape off the spot, dissolve in solvent and measure by some other technique (like spectroscopy)
  2. Use scanning densitometer

Unfortunately, these methods require access to a lab. I really can't think of any way for you to get an idea without more advanced techniques. Sorry.:)

While I've done TLC before, like MB, I've never used it quantitatively. In case it might help, here's a google book source describing a method like MB says of scraping it off and using another technique (a colorometric technique):

Introductory Practical Biochemistry - Google Book Search

And, here's a whole book on Quantitative Thin-layer Chromatography:

Quantitative Thin-layer ... - Google Book Search

~modest

well, thats a bummer :doh: explains why i cant find answers except with other methods....

i am certainly going to track down a copy of "Quantitative Thin-layer Chromatography and Its Industrial Applications" seems quite specific for what i want.

now that my original Q's are answered, heres another.