Science Forums

An explanation of what I am talking about.

Doctordick

The following comment in the “Deriving Schrödinger's Equation from my Fundamental Equation” leads me to post this alternate thread.

Perhaps it is helpful to point out here also that those symmetry constraints "on all flaw free explanations" are springing from the fact that the explicit meaning of the "data to be explained", is fundamentally unknown.
It appears to me that a little clarification on what I am doing would be worthwhile.

Perhaps it would be useful for me to point out exactly what I am talking about in my overall presentation: i.e., what we are working with and where we are going. When I was a student (some half a century ago) I was made aware of the power of symmetry arguments. As one professor once told me, “symmetry arguments are the most powerful arguments which can be made as they are the only arguments which can produce iron clad relationships out of total ignorance.”

My original purpose was to create a useful mental model of any explanation of any information so that I could comprehend exactly what could be deduced from the simple notion of internal consistency and symmetry principals. This thought resulted in what I call, “A Universal Analytical Model of Explanation Itself”, a paper within which I the development of what I call my “fundamental equation”. It is very important that the reader realize that there is utterly no content in that equation. It is no more than a exercise displaying the tautological consequences of the definitions brought forth in that paper.

1. [imath]x_i[/imath] is defined to be a numerical label for a specific undefined ontological element used in that explanation.

2. Time (as an index) is defined via the following: the past is the information being explained; the present (indexed by [imath]t_k[/imath]) is a change in that information. [imath]t_k[/imath] refers to a specific set of ontological elements [imath]x_i[/imath].