Science Forums

Natural selection and the hedgehog

Morphyous

I wonder what your candidate for a creature which may supercede the intelligence of man might be?

Mine as you have probably gathered is the hedgehog.

As a driver I was for years confronted with the crushed bodies of hedgehogs as I drove along my way. I have noticed that there has been a marked decline in these onerous deaths on the roads, in the last few years. Hedgehogs havn't become more fleet of foot or more able to survive the impact of a motor car. I have heard no reports of the rapid decline of these creatures in fact quite a few visit my garden to eat the remains of our cat food.

I can only assume they are better at crossing roads.

All the dumb hedgehogs are being knocked over and the brighter ones are surving to breed.

Have you got a candidate for a bright creature of the future ? :cup:

I've always thought that the next successor intelligent species on Earth would be insectoid. Moreover, it might be a "collective" intelligence a la Auntie Hill, the ant colony of Doug Hofstedter. The main advantage they have is that they evolve unbelievably rapidly and reproduce in numbers that make them one of the few phylla that are not doomed by the actions of humans. Dophins and whales of course are already smarter than us, they're just smart enough to realize a good thing when they've got it ("So long, and thanks for all the fish!"): no need for dolphin cars, oceanscrapers or computers, but unfortunately humans are once again making sure they go the way of the Dodo.

But why not hedghogs? Are you sure they're not just going extinct? That desire to cross the road in so many mammal species is a guaranteed way to reach extinction.

Cheers,

Buffy

I've always thought that the next successor intelligent species on Earth would be insectoid.