Science Forums

G'Day

dagaz

Howdy all from the Land Down Under. Have made a couple of posts (including an accidental double post) so thought I should introduce myself.

I am currently living in Outback Australia (about 600 km's west of Sydney) where I am the only science teacher in a school of 155 kids.

This is my third year of teaching, before that I worked in ecological restoration for various organisations around the Byron Bay area (the most Easterly point of the Australian mainland) where I grew up.

I have a degree in Environmental Science and (during my youth) was actively involved in some quite large environmental protests (I once spent about 4 hours up a twelve metre tripod in front of NSW's parliament house in Sydney.

Anyway, glad to be on board.

oooh, another one with a killer accent.

Tormod, this place just gets better and better!!

WELCOME, dagaz. Nice to have you. Can't wait to read more of what you have to say. I noticed that your 'join date' is back in July 04. Can you tell us why you've waited so long to introduce yourself and start posting. This is NOT a criticism, I'm just always curious to know what keeps people from posting right away. The only reason I joined was to get in on a conversation, so I'm curious what others motives are.

Again, welcome, and great to have you onboard!

Classic....mmm and you reckon 600km west of Sydney is Outback! :)

Yeh, well I'm in a line with Cobar and Bourke (they're both on the Kidman way which runs pretty well North-South and is about 50 km away) and the Black Stump is just up the road - the average rainfall here is 375 mm a year so we're also in the arid zone. Luckily the Murrumbidgee River isn't all that far away (about an hour) or I'd probably forget what a natural body of water looks like! Its not the red centre but I still consider it outback, try moving from Cairns to here and tell me what you reckon in a couple of years time - I grew up in Byron Bay so for me its like another world out here.