Science Forums

(Another "Refute This Claim !") Evolution: Fact or Fantasy

tmaromine

I think a good TV show was just created in my mind.

I've gotten one of the common messages by a religious friend: a message by some religious fanatic (in this case, the 'father of the ID movement') that never knows what he's talking about.

I'm hoping someone will take their time and correctify this. I know there's probably numerous ludicrous claims (it thinks it refutes (macro)evolution, after all), but I'm only a biology student and am so unfortunately less scient than many of you !

So, here's the drama:

«Evolution: Fact or Fantasy?»

by Philip E Johnson

"Evolution is a fact only at a small scale. It is fantasy when it is used to explain how plants and animals came into existence or how human beings supposedly evolved from apelike ancestors. We might summarize the fantasy by saying that, where the theory of evolution is true, its not very interesting, and where it is most interesting, it is not true.

If "evolution" merely refers to a process of cyclical (back and forth) variation in response to changing enviromental conditions, then evolution is a fact that can be observed both in nature and in a laboratory experiments.

For exampla, when a population of insects is sprayed with a deadly chemical like DDT, the most susceptible insects die but the individuals most resistant to the poison survive to breed and leave offspring, which inherit the genes that provide resistance. After many generations of insects have been sprayed, the entire surviving population may be comprised of the DDT-resistant variety, and some new form of insect control will have to be applied. Such changes are not permanent, however, because the resistant mosquitoes are more fit than the others only for as long as the insecticide is applied. When the enviroment becomes free of the toxic chemical, the insect population tends to revert to what it was before.