Science Forums

English: Singular/Plural?

Ganoderma

can someone help me out. i am from canada and we were taught things like 1 fish, 2 fish. why don't certain words, such as fish, not use "es" for the plural. i am told osme places do use fishes (england, correct me if i am wrong).

can someone explain to me the logic behind this? why 1 shark/2 sharks but 1/2 is/are still fish?

I feel pretty stupid, i am an ESL teacher :cup:

PS sorry for all my bad spelling in every post i make, typing is a chore for me.

What a curious question. I am not sure the underlying reason behind it.

Deer is another that is the same plural and singular. It turns out that wiki has a good listing of english plural words and usage, but not really good explanation:

English plural - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Some nouns spell their singular and plural exactly alike; these are regarded by some linguists as regular plurals. Many of these are the names of animals:

deer

fish (and many individual fish names: cod, mackerel, trout, etc.)

moose

sheep

The plural deers is listed in some dictionaries,[1] but is considered by many to be an error.

I'd also like to know why?

Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea... :cup:

I've always assumed--and been told by many who have had to learn it as non-natives--that English was one of the hardest languages to learn because its seemingly *nothing but* "exceptions to the rule." Its right up there with Russian and Chinese.

You're dancing next to another fun topic that maybe someone wants to start a thread on: the endless group nouns we have lying about the language...

A Pod of Meeses,

Buffy