Science Forums

Earth Science Not enough!

Govind

Hello,

I want to request the admin to plz make a forum for Environmental Sciences.

There is one for Earth Sciences..which is supposed to include Environmental Sciences posts as well...but there is a lot of difference between the two disciplines.

Please look into the matter and do the needfull.

Thank for Your Time

Regards,

Govind

We will consider adding a forum for that. In order to start new forums we need to know that there is a real need for them.

Please explain the differences between Earth Sciences and Environmental Sciences.

well i did a wiki search for that and i found this out

Environmental science

Environmental science - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Earth science

Earth science - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

i hope Govind will give you more info on that since i am not an expert in this area

TBA

I find such distinctions questionable, and can see it leading to a problem finding a topic. The intent of various forums is to make things easier. Otherwise, we'd have a forum for everything.

Example: Math forum is good enough. We do not need an algebra forum, calculus forum, euclidean geometry forum, non-euclidean geometry forum, Imaginary numbers forum.... It all goes in Math. It gets out of hand in a hurry if you keep subcategorizing every little thing.

Stick it in Earth Sciences. It's a very broad umbrella to catch all of the idea precipitation. :shade:

We need an umbrella forum, and a raincoat forum, and a... :rainumbrella:

I agree, enviornmental issues fit perfectly in Earth Sciences. It is a logical subset of earth sciences.

That being said, I agree enviornmental issues are very important (the most important issue in the broad category of earth sciences in my opionion). However, the forum structure, as InfiniteNow stated, is there to make things easier to find. It is a logical hierarchy, not a hierarchy of importance.