Science Forums

Medical Doctors - Do They Have Extensive Training In Statistics?

Wannabelifeguard

Hi guys,

1. Does anyone know if doctors are required to study statistics and then apply this knowledge on a regular basis through research?

2. Are all doctors required to do research?

The background to this question is a YouTube video I saw of a doctor who was talking about COVID19 statistics and he did not seem to know anything about statistics. He talked more like a layman. I was unsure if that was because he was "speaking to his audience" or if there was a chance that statistics training was not part of his medical curriculum. 

I had always assumed that doctors needed to be well versed in statistics to interpret the latest research and to conduct their own research...

Good question, but first I am NOT a medical doctor, but here is my take from my experience as an electronics maintenance engineer. 

MD's would have a degree in some science field, before going on to do their MD it would be at that stage they would do most of the math and statistics. 

But in general it would only be in specific area's such as populations and a virus that statistics would be applied. A doctor would however use 'statistical trends' to help lead them to a particular diagnosis of a condition, or to determine area's of risk for a patent, things like having a higher probability of lung cancer if you are a smoker.

But specifically for an individual patient the diagnosis process would be much like what I would do when required to find out what is wrong with a complex system (for me a radar system for example, for them a human system). 

They make observations with some understanding of the probability of what could be causing the condition or symptoms that the patient has. Much as we have studied the 'fault modes' of electronic components.