Photo
- - - - -

Spilled Phosphoric Acid All Over Myself Without Option To Shower For A Few Hours. What To Do?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 david77

david77

Curious

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 May 2019 - 09:12 AM

Hello all! I don't know where else to ask this so i ask in here in hope that it will get answered. Kind of an emergency. So, im a farmer and went over to a field to refill and ph a water tank. Spilled ph down all over myself, wiped it, changed clothes but i have no possibility of a shower and im starting to get itchy when the chemical made contact. Is it ok if i stay like this for a couple hours to finish up or i should go and frantically wash everything off?

Thanks in advance!

#2 VictorMedvil

VictorMedvil

The Human Shadow

• Members
  • 1033 posts

Posted 05 May 2019 - 09:19 AM

Well, I think it will be fine for a couple of hours but as soon as possible wash it off, of course. Now if it were a stronger acid I would take measures to get it off me immediately but with a weak acid like Phosphoric Acid I think you can wait but as soon as possible.

Edited by VictorMedvil, 05 May 2019 - 09:21 AM.

#3 exchemist

exchemist

Creating

• Members
  • 2476 posts

Posted 05 May 2019 - 09:51 AM

Hello all! I don't know where else to ask this so i ask in here in hope that it will get answered. Kind of an emergency. So, im a farmer and went over to a field to refill and ph a water tank. Spilled ph down all over myself, wiped it, changed clothes but i have no possibility of a shower and im starting to get itchy when the chemical made contact. Is it ok if i stay like this for a couple hours to finish up or i should go and frantically wash everything off?

Thanks in advance!

I don't believe you. If you were in an emergency, you would not go hunting the internet on your mobile phone for obscure science forums to ask this question, to which the answer is bloody obvious: WASH IT OFF. NOW.