Science Forums

Simple Question - Preloading Of A Cantilever Beam

LandCacci

Hello, everyone.

I have been trying to understand the meaning of the question from the posted image.

I think that preloading has to do with adding bolts to the cantilever beam such that it can withstand the force from above, but I am not sure how exactly these bolts should be implemented.

I would also like to generate a meaningful equation based on the information provided.

post-95345-0-75858000-1546359336_thumb.jpg

Edited by LandCacci

Hello, everyone.

I have been trying to understand the meaning of the question from the posted image.

I think that preloading has to do with adding bolts to the cantilever beam such that it can withstand the force from above, but I am not sure how exactly these bolts should be implemented.

I would also like to generate a meaningful equation based on the information provided.

I'm not an engineer but I should have thought that preloading might be applying a stress to a load-bearing structure so that it deforms less when subjected to the loads it is designed to carry in service. A sort taking up of the "slack", if you like.  

But I see you've splashed this enquiry all over the internet so no doubt an engineer somewhere will give you a reply. When you get the authoritative answer, I'd be interested to know what it is.

Edited by exchemist

Consider that the top portion of a beam will be in tension, and the bottom of the beam would be in compression.   Adding a compressive load at or near the top of the beam will add strength and reduce deformation, and likewise, by adding a tensile load to the bottom.  Not an engineer, but I did have some classes.

I assume that you mean that the top portion will produce a reactionary tensile shear force pointing in the positive x-direction. I also assume that the bottom portion will produce a reactionary compressive shear force pointing in the negative x-direction.