Science Forums

Lifting Weights--Stunt Growth

Does lifting weights and working out stunt height. I am fifteen and a late grower. I started lifting weights about a year ago and am now worried about my height because of rumors about my growht meing stunted. Is this rumor true. If so, are there certain exercises or types of exercises that would stunt your growth such as those compressing your spine. Please reply. Thanks.

Chris

Hello there hazy. I havn't heard too much about weightlifiting stunting growth; I lifted fairly heavilly from 15-17ish and I didn't suffer any ill effect, even grew an inch while doing it. If anything I think chinups and other hanging workouts would offset any stunting weightlifting could cause.

Perhaps this is one of these myths that will never die...

Weightlifting didn't stunt the growth of Yao Ming, Shaquille O'Neal, David

Robinson, Karl Malone, Sergey Federov, and many other professional athletes who started lifting when they were still teens. Arnold Schwarzenegger started lifting very

young and is now 6'1". Lou Ferrigno started working out at 14 years old at the height of 5' 9" and grew to 6' 5" - he was the tallest in his family! So the answer is no, there is no scientific evidence to support that myth, in fact, books such as the Russian, School of Height, suggest that weight training may infact stimulate growth. The latest weight training studies done on teens showed only positive effects.

Also activities such as running and jumping create forces on the body that are six to eight times one's body weight. The compression forces on his legs and spine are far

greater in running and jumping than they will ever be in squatting or pressing over head, yet people arent concerned about growth imparity when they run... So the myth is Busted!

(sources: http://www.trulyhuge.com/news/tips63iq.htm)

Lou was 6' 1"? :)