Science Forums

Swarming Bees

DrKrettin

I have just read a local news item reporting on a swarm of bees. No big deal, but the reporter commented that it was a sticky problem, even when it was not known whether they were honey bees or not.

So my pedantry kicked in and I wondered whether there were species of bee which swarm but do not produce honey.

Any experts out there?

I'm not an expert. I am sure someone like Farming Guy can tell you more than I can.

I have had several swarms on my property and once on my boat, while it was docked.

As far as I know, only honey bees swarm and they do it to reproduce a new colony. When they are

"between colonies" they may just hang around on a tree branch for a couple of days then move on.

I just leave them alone unless they are hanging in a place where children or pets who don't know any better can annoy the bees and end up getting stung. In that case blowing some smoke on the swarm will get them to move on. That is how I convinced them to get off my boat!

Once they find a new colony, if it is also in a place that threatens children or pets, they may not move on so easily and a professional beekeeper may be needed to collect them. If they are not threatening anyone, it may be best to just leave them bee. hah!

But in your case, you will probably have the African bee and it is my understanding they can be very aggressive, so proceed with caution if you are lucky enough to get a swarm.

• 3 weeks later...

I have just read a local news item reporting on a swarm of bees. No big deal, but the reporter commented that it was a sticky problem, even when it was not known whether they were honey bees or not.

So my pedantry kicked in and I wondered whether there were species of bee which swarm but do not produce honey.

Any experts out there?