Science Forums

Electrostatic Force And Its Affect On 3D Objects

So I am new to this science forum so please have mercy. I just have some basic questions about electrostatic forces. I hope these are not too vague. So basically from my understanding, if you have two oppositely charged particles, the opposites will attract due to the electrostatic force. The strength of force is predicted by Coloumb’s law. My question is can these charged particles also be charged objects? And when they attract and meet, is there a formula for the speed and time that they would take to be joined together? I want to understand the affect of the electrostatic force on objects. So basically if you had two 10 x 10 x 10 micron cubes of matter, each of the opposite charge, what would be the properties of their connection and attraction? I am trying to test out many ideas that I have and I need a firm understanding of electrostatics. I'm sorry if I am vague. Are there any good tutorials and software simulations online?

So I am new to this science forum so please have mercy. I just have some basic questions about electrostatic forces. I hope these are not too vague. So basically from my understanding, if you have two oppositely charged particles, the opposites will attract due to the electrostatic force. The strength of force is predicted by Coloumb’s law. My question is can these charged particles also be charged objects? And when they attract and meet, is there a formula for the speed and time that they would take to be joined together? I want to understand the affect of the electrostatic force on objects. So basically if you had two 10 x 10 x 10 micron cubes of matter, each of the opposite charge, what would be the properties of their connection and attraction? I am trying to test out many ideas that I have and I need a firm understanding of electrostatics. I'm sorry if I am vague. Are there any good tutorials and software simulations online?