Science Forums

So What Languages Can You Speak?

Gregb

I'm a native English speaker, but I was raised in a town settled mostly be Germans so I studied German throughout grammar school. I'm no fluent speaker of German but I imagine I could do well enough if immersed. I took some Spanish in high school as well, but my vocabulary es tristemente deficiente y estaría perdido para hablar o entender el español conversacional. (Thank you Google translate and curse you spell-checker. ;)

I'm a native English speaker, but I was raised in a town settled mostly be Germans so I studied German throughout grammar school. I'm no fluent speaker of German but I imagine I could do well enough if immersed. I took some Spanish in high school as well, but my vocabulary es tristemente deficiente y estaría perdido para hablar o entender el español conversacional. (Thank you Google translate and curse you spell-checker. ;)

That's great! have you been or plan to visit Germany?

• 4 months later...

Turtle, i should be: " Nein ich gehe nicht nach Deutschland. Oder, ich fahre nicht auf der Autobahn".

I speak 5.5 languages, italian and swiss-german as mother-tongue (both, because it depends how you define mother-tongue: as the first langauge learned or the one done schooling in?), then French, English and Norwegian. The .5 comes from the fact that swissGerman is such a hardcore dialect that Germans do not understand it, but it is only spoken, written stuff in the German-part of Switzerland is proper German --> so one can count German and Swiss-german as 1.5 languages :-).

I learned all these languages just by living where they spoke it. This helps a lot! I tried to learn Polish just like that (my wife is Polish), but by not living in Poland and the fact that it is one of the hardest languages I did not go very far, but manage to play cards with my mother-in-law who speaks only Polish...