Science Forums

What is 'hyperspace"?

Morgan07

Hello. My name is Morgan and I'm new to the forum (and a complete novice when it comes to physics). I'm trying to understand M theory. I'm in Poland and I don't have ready access to the books written by Briane Greene or Michio Kaku. I have watched some of their videos, however, and I think I've understood everything in them incorrectly. Forgive me if there are a lot of questions here, but I'm completely lost. Much appreciation for any help :-)

What is the "hyperspace" that Kaku refers to? Is it the 11th dimension or is something else?

My understanding so far is this:

1) Vibrating strings form everything.

2) There are 10 spatial dimensions, plus 1 dimension of time.

3) Somehow, a string can expand to form a brane (How do they do this? Does a brane vibrate the way a string does? Why would a string expand like this?)

4) Universes can form on branes. Our universe may have formed through a brane collision (How is it, then, that we can be sure that our universe is expanding? What if its just the brane that's expanding, since we apparently know that strings expand so much?)

5) There may be an infinite number of branes (and universes) floating around (Where do they float? Are they in hyperspace? The 11th dimension? What is the 11th dimension?)

Again, I'm really lost and would be grateful for a lifeline :-) Thanks!

I think it's important to keep (1) geometry and (2) electromagentic fields and waves separate in your mind, at least initially.

Hyperspace refers to any geometry above 3 dimensions. For example, Kaku explains how a 2 dimensional man would perceive a 3D object passing through his 2D space as a line. Simlarly, Kaku implies that light could be just our limited 4D perception of something that exists in 5D, and so on. There can be infinitely many dimensions in geomtery of universe.