Science Forums

Why is Pleasure linked to Procreation?

Apes Anonymous

Hi everybody, great forum!

I got here after doing a search in google about a question that's been preoccupying me about evolution. I am no scientist as you'll soon guess, but as most people find evolution to be one of the most fascinating subjects.

I know that Evolution experts agree that mutations are the product of pure chance and that although it might look like "mother nature" has a plan to keep us alive that is not the case. Nature, we are told, has no favorites and merely supports the fittest.

This is a hard concept to swallow for the common man who sees that nature, in fact, rewards all our survival instincts, and it sure looks like we are being forced to survive and procreate. We are, for instance, rewarded by pleasure every time we eat, or engage in sexual intercourse , and are punished by pain or fear when our life is threatened.

Now science tells us That it only looks that way because we are mixing cause and effect, and that we should say: "I'm still alive because nature gave me the instinct of fear." and not the other way around: "Nature gave me the instinct of fear in me in order to keep me alive". The second statement is dead wrong because nature doesn't give a damn if we live or die.

I accept the the theory of evolution as a valid explanation for life, but the hard part for me is to understand how so much incentive to procreate can be given to living beings without any intention on the part of nature. For example, how come the sensation of pleasure is concentrated on the genitals? It is hard to keep the cause-effect order in mind if you know what genitals are for. The first thing that comes to mind is that animals are therefore encouraged to procreate.

I think that when people who believe in Intelligent Design it has more to do with the feeling that nature has an intention than what we are told by religion.