Science Forums

Why the Norwegian Krone is the World's Safest Currency

Tormod

This is a bit surprising to me...but since I live in Norway I figure it's worth posting here:

Investors keen to protect their precious cash have sought security in all the usual places in recent months. The U.S. dollar, the Swiss franc and the Japanese yen — each with a history as a safe haven — have all provided homes for nervous depositors' cash. But as the economies of those three countries flounder, it's time to look around, and smart investors think they've discovered a new harbor to protect them from the choppy economic seas. "The best safe haven currency," analysts at banking giant HSBC wrote in a research note this month, is Norway's. According to HSBC's reading, right now the Norwegian krone is "probably the best currency in the world."

Why the Norwegian Krone is the World's Safest Currency - TIME

• 2 years later...
  • 8 months later...

I studied economics at the Vanderbilt University Graduate School of Economics back in the early 1980's. Finished the course work and was about to take the Ph.D. qualifying exam when I went to look at the old exams kept in the library. Vanderbilt kept all the old qualifying exams in every field. When I looked at the economics exams, they were all there but there were no answers (other fields gave answers except for essay questions). I went back and asked the chairman of the department why there were no answers. He told me, “the answers aren't important; it's how well you can argue your position!” I said to him, “you do realize that is the definition of bull s**t don't you?” Needless to say I wasn't offered a fellowship the following year.