Science Forums

Speed of light...instantatious Travel??

fatty_ashy

Hi people, this is my first time here!! i'm glad there are people out here that like this kindda stuff...my frens say it's boring...oh dear, i'm ranting...

Erm, I was wondering if travelling at the speed of light actually means instant travel.

According the time dilation factor....let's say if we are actually travelling at the speed of light exactly. Basically that would mean the Time dilation factor is 1/0; dividing one by zero gives infinity doesn't it? that means if we are actually travelling at speed of light, in real time, we would be taking ___ lightyears, but if the time dilation factor is up to infinity, doesn't that sort of mean that time would hardly move in the ship? According to Length Contraction, millions of lightyears would just seem like a snap!!

Anyone has an idea of their own?

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi! And a warm welcome to you.

I'm not sure I get your point. Travel at the speed of light _is_ travel at the speed of light, i.e. some 360,000 kilometers per second. Strange things happen at this speed, yes, like the conversion of matter into energy - which is why only energy travels at the speed of light (photons, for example). Instant travel would mean _faster than light_ travel, which would be impossible for any object that travels at a rate lower than the speed of light. That would be teleportation...which we recently discussed here.

Division by 0 does not get you an infinity, it gives you an error. Any calculation which gives you an infinity is probably not the best way to try to understand the Universe.

If what you say is true, however, then the light which comes from the Big Bang has never experienced any "time" in our sense of the word (ie, slow, forward motion of time). The light particles/waves would be much, much younger than the current age of the Universe.