Science Forums

What would make a diesel engine run better on vegetable oil? Do you have any ideas?

Hello Everyone :evil:

What would make a diesel engine run better on vegetable oil ?

I was wondering what everyone thought ?

Any ideas, comments, suggestions ? All are welcome !

Even if the idea sound ludicrous or impossible.

I just wanted to brainstorm about the possibilities.

What do you think ?

Here a few of my ideas.

Heating the oil.

Turning the oil into biodiesel.

A new fuel injector specifically made for vegetable oil use.

Larger diameter fuel lines.

Higher compression engines.

Thank You

Have Fun

RichC

:evil:

Hello Everyone :)

What would make a diesel engine run better on vegetable oil ?

I was wondering what everyone thought ?

Any ideas, comments, suggestions ? All are welcome !

Even if the idea sound ludicrous or impossible.

I just wanted to brainstorm about the possibilities.

What do you think ?

Thank You

Have Fun

RichC

;)

I'm just a layman, but I recall that vegetable oil has glycerin it it that will gum up the works. :) Here's a handy-dandy do it yourself gob o' information:

Make your own biodiesel: Journey to Forever

The main problem with directly using vegtable oil is that it is too thick at temperatures below 15C, in fact clouding as small grains of solid form that clog filters and injectors. You can use it directly in warm temperatures.

Bio fats like veg and animal oils are glycerine molecules with long fatty acid chains replacing the hydrogen in the three alcohol (-OH) groups on the 3 carbons of the glycerine molecule:

Transesterification is the easy reaction that is used to turn any bio-oils or fats into far more fluid mixtures of lower cloud temps called "biodiesel"