Science Forums

Biology Books

nWorld

Hello. As of late I have became very interested in the human body and the life sciences in general (due to discussions with proponents of pseudoscience). I have not taken a biology class since grade 10, and I am now in second year university in economics. Basically what I'm asking is what are some good books that teach the basics of human biology, and cover a wide range of the subject. Also, is Origin of Species a worthwhile read? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Hello. As of late I have became very interested in the human body and the life sciences in general (due to discussions with proponents of pseudoscience). I have not taken a biology class since grade 10, and I am now in second year university in economics. Basically what I'm asking is what are some good books that teach the basics of human biology, and cover a wide range of the subject. Also, is Origin of Species a worthwhile read? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Welcome nWorld! Good to have you onboard!

I'd say Origin of Species is a must-read for anyone looking into biology.

But as for specific biology books - I assume you want some popular science books? - I am not too familiar with that genre. MAybe you could be more specific? Are you looking for evolution, medicine, ecology?

Welcome nWorld! Good to have you onboard!

I'd say Origin of Species is a must-read for anyone looking into biology.

But as for specific biology books - I assume you want some popular science books? - I am not too familiar with that genre. MAybe you could be more specific? Are you looking for evolution, medicine, ecology?

Thanks.

Not necessarilly popular science books, but just books that outline the science and go into considerable detail. Pretty much my goal is to learn biology as if I were in the classroom, but without paying the $5000. I'm interested in human biology, which would include genetics, evolution, medicine, even psychology. Ecology is not what I'm looking for. Thanks.